Bowls of Deliciousness

I am the full on opposite of an adventurous eater. No really, I was one of those kids who only ate white things (and peanut butter). My eating habbits are much better now, especially since moving out on my own and learning to cook for myself, but I still get nervous when trying anything too adventurous (like any kind of ethnic food).

Nathan, however, cannot only eat white things for the rest of his life, so I am constantly pushing my “food horizons” in an effort to keep him sane.

A couple of weeks ago, I was sitting in the optometrist’s office flipping through an issue of Sunset Magazine when I came across a recipe for glazed chili tofu with ramen. Ramen? I like ramen. Tofu? I like that pretty well too. Spinach? I don’t really like that. But I was willing to try it, especially after Nate got so excited after I showed him the recipe.

I’m so glad I did. It was so good guys. I was worried that it was going to be too spicy and it wasn’t. I was worried about the spinach and it was actually pretty tasty. I was worried that the ginger would be overpowering and hurt my mouth, but the broth was lovely.

It was also really freakin easy.

It was so good and I cannot recommend it enough.

  • 1 qt. reduced-sodium chicken broth (we used veggie broth)
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh garlic
  • 4 tablespoons reduced-sodium soy sauce, divided
  • About 1 tbsp. Thai or other Asian sweet chili sauce
  • 1 pkg. (14 oz.) extra-firm tofu, drained and patted dry (we used pre-cubed tofu and deep fried them in oil)
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 12 ounces fresh ramen noodles or fresh Chinese wheat noodles
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 2 cups spinach leaves
  1. Combine broth, 2 cups water, the ginger, garlic, and 3 tbsp. soy sauce in a medium saucepan. Bring to a simmer over medium heat; cook 10 minutes.
  2. Mix the remaining 1 tbsp. soy sauce and 1 tbsp. chili sauce in a small bowl; set mixture aside.
  3. Cut tofu crosswise into 8 slabs, each 1/2 in. thick. Heat oil in a large nonstick frying pan over medium heat. Cook tofu, turning once, until lightly browned, about 8 minutes. Remove from heat; pour soy-chili mixture over tofu and turn gently to coat.
  4. Add noodles and carrots to broth and cook, stirring occasionally, until just tender, 3 to 4 minutes. Stir in spinach and cook just until wilted. Ladle noodles, broth, and vegetables into bowls and top each with 2 slabs of tofu. Drizzle tofu with more chili sauce if you like.
One thought on “Bowls of Deliciousness

  1. Pingback: 3 Soups for Non-Soup People | Little Blog of Wonders

Leave a Reply (Please be nice!)

