Nights Alone

Do you like sleeping alone? I mean all alone, just you and your house/ apartment/whatever?

I do not. I hate it. Loathe it. Fear it. Avoid it at all costs.

One thing that was really nice about having Nate + a roommate was that I rarely had the whole apartment to myself. But with just Nate and I living together now, it was bound to happen sooner or later.

The inevitable night along came last week, when Nate scurried off to New York for a night and left me in Providence all by my lonesome for the first time since we moved here. I feared the worst.

When I say “the worst,” I mean everything from axe murder break-ins to staying up all night because I’m afraid of axe murderer break-ins and then having to go to work on three hours of restless sleep (THE WORST). Both options equally plausible in my mind.

So I formed a plan: I would come home from work, call my grandma, play lots of music, make cookies and — the piece de resistance — watch You’ve Got Mail before bed. That way, I would have thoughts of Jo Fox dancing in my head and not axe-murders/ ghosts.

And I’m happy to report it actually worked! I fell asleep at a regular time with very little fuss (disclaimer: I did end up leaving the light on in the living room).

Now I know who to turn to in my times of irrational need: Nora Ephron and/ or Meg Ryan and/or Tom Hanks.

https://i1.wp.com/cf.drafthouse.com/_uploads/galleries/23425/youve-got-mail-image-4.jpg

Do you have a feel good movie of choice? Or a sleeping alone coping mechanism? It’s good to know that I’m not really alone, at least in these fears!

One thought on “Nights Alone

  1. I wish I could say I feel the same, but as I’ve lived in this house my whole life nights alone are cherished. Mind you, I do have an adorable (but very chicken) doggy to keep me company…

Leave a Reply (Please be nice!)

