On Being Alone

On Saturday, Nathan was gone for the day. And when I mean the day, I mean from 6:15am until 10:00pm, so allllll day. Consequently, I had the house all to myself allllll day long. This doesn’t happen very often. Before moving to Providence, we had other roommates to talk to in the kitchen and go to the grocery store with, but now, when Nate is gone, it’s just me!

I was a little at a loss for what to do, so I mostly just cleaned. I did all the laundry and washed the sheets. I emptied the dishwasher and cleaned the counter tops. In between these little chores, I skyped with lovely friends, made a grocery list and printed out some new recipes. Then I ate leftover pizza and watched Easy A until Nate came bursting through the doors, dropping promptly into bed (the man had to get up very early). I liked having the place to myself, but a little part of me missed having a third roommate, which in turn reinforced my want for a cat.

All I can say is, thank god I didn’t have to sleep in the apartment by myself. I might be twenty-two, but that doesn’t mean I’m not still a little afraid (okay really afraid) of things that go bump in the night.

Do you like being alone? How do you spend the time?

4 thoughts on “On Being Alone

  1. Hi Emma,

    A lot of time is spent alone here in the house in Florida. First, I sleep with about four lights on in the house and floodlights on outside. No more reading scary books or watching scary movies. I get the heebie geebies when a trailer comes on tv for one!

    Ciao,
    gerre lynne

    • Hi Gerre,

      I agree! I can’t watch/read those kinds of things either. My parents used to say I have a “big imagination” the littlest thing and my mind immediately goes running. Glad to know that I’m not the only one who feels this way :)

      cheers,
      Emma

  2. I’ve been alone frequently and I can’t say it bothers me any. And as for scary things, I’ve been TRYING to scare myself for at least the last 10 years! I read all the scary books and watch all the scary tv and movies I can, nothing seems to give me nightmares or stop me from sleeping. I’ll find something eventually :)

Leave a Reply (Please be nice!)

