Dressing to Impress

book

Tonight I’m off to a publishing industry networking event hosted by Book Builders of Boston. It’s supposed to be fairly warm, so I wanted to pick something that was causal but professional and comfortable. Something that said “hire me.” At the very least that lovely orange-red says “look at me!” and I love that the copy of A Tale of Two Cities is actually a Kate Spade clutch purse! They have several different kinds, including Pride and Prejudice, Emma and The Great Gatsby. Certainty an appropriate accessory for such an event. I love them all, but thought that color scheme of the Dickens worked best with the red dress. If I owned the Emma one, however, I’d probably organize a whole outfit around it, the only problem being that a clutch purse leaves little room for resumes.

I’m a little nervous, any super stellar networking tips for the young and naive? How exactly do you walk up to a person and strike up a conversation?

 

Leave a Reply (Please be nice!)

