The Composites

Brian Joseph Davis uses law enforcement composite sketch software to make portraits of literary characters based on their descriptions, which is pretty freaking cool if you ask me.

Some of my favorites:

Jane Eyre (Jane Eyre): “I sometimes regretted that I was not handsomer; I sometimes wished to have rosy cheeks, a straight nose, and small cherry mouth; I desired to be tall, stately, and finely developed in figure; I felt it a misfortune that I was so little, so pale, and had features so irregular and so marked…“Jane, you look blooming, and smiling, and pretty,” said he: “truly pretty this morning. Is this my pale, little elf? Is this my mustard-seed? This little sunny-faced girl with the dimpled cheek and rosy lips; the satin-smooth hazel hair, and the radiant hazel eyes?” (I had green eyes, reader; but you must excuse the mistake: for him they were new-dyed, I suppose)… Having ascertained that I was myself in my usual Quaker trim, where there was nothing to retouch—all being too close and plain, braided locks included. ”

Norman Bates (Psycho): “The light shone down on his plump face, reflected from his rimless glasses, bathed the pinkness of his scalp beneath the thinning sandy hair as he bent his head to resume reading…”Looking for a room?” Mary made up her mind very quickly, once she saw the fat, bespectacled face and heard the soft, hesitant voice. There wouldn’t be any trouble…The puckered lips were beginning to tremble…The eyes behind the fat man’s glasses seemed vacant.”

Holly Golightly (Breakfast at Tiffany’s): “She was still on the stairs, now she reached the landing, and the ragbag colors of her boy’s hair, tawny streaks, strands of albino-blond and yellow, caught the hall light…For all her chic thinness, she had an almost breakfast cereal air of health, a soap and lemon cleanness, a rough pink darkening in the cheeks…Her mouth was large, her nose upturned…I thought her anywhere between sixteen and thirty; as it turned out, she was shy two months of her nineteenth birthday…Her varicolored hair was somewhat self-induced…They were large eyes, a little blue, a little green.”

What do you think? Any of these characters look like you expect? To me, Holly Golightly will forever be Audrey Hepburn, no matter how different the description is from the actress.

Leave a Reply (Please be nice!)

