How to Fly In Style?

I honestly don’t really have an answer for this one. I fly on a really regular basis and I still haven’t figured out how to do it with grace. It’s gotten better but in no way am I a pretty flyer. When I fly, it’s kinda a mess. I think my problem is that I’m too practical. I don’t want to wear high heels to the airport thanks. Who am I trying to impress? No one, I’m just trying to make my flight on time and not get detained at the boarder. So here is how I manage:

Hair: If my hair is too grungy to just wear down, I put it in a low ponytail. It’s easy to fix after it gets all mussed from sleeping against the airplane window and looks fairly good.

Shoes: I almost exclusively travel in riding boots. They’re easy to take off a security and they keep my feet warm. My number one problem when traveling is that I get too cold. Flats/ sandals although useful, don’t keep me warm.

Clothing: Sometimes, however, I get too hot. Thus, it’s all about the light layers. I always wear something that is long enough to cover the small of my back but it’s suffocating. I also usually wear my centuries-old  Northface Denali jacket. That breast pocket is perfect passport size.

https://i0.wp.com/www.discountednorthfacejackets.net/images/products/north-face-denali-jacket-01.jpg

Accessories: Always bring a scarf/ shawl. If you’re not cold, it makes a good pillow. Currently, my personal item is always a backpack. Sexy right? You can’t really look graceful while wearing a backpack, maybe that’s my first problem. But I don’t really have a choice. Stella is too big! With my shiny new mac in two, however, I’m thinking of buying a vintage American Tourist bag. Big and practical, but not clumsy.

Any traveling fashion tips? I would love to learn to travel with more style. I do it so often that I feel like it’s a necessary skill to have.

Leave a Reply (Please be nice!)

