On Reading

I’m not looking forward to graduating. Really, I’m not.  Not because I don’t want to try and find a job or become an “adult” (like that will ever actually happen), but because being in university is pretty freakin awesome. Despite university being pretty freakin awesome, however, it takes up a lot of time. And right now, I’m daydreaming, longing and lusting after some time to read books of my own choosing without any expectations (ah! the luxury!).

Like The Magus by John Fowels

and The End of the Affair by Graham Greene

and all the Harry Potter books again

and Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

and Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

and Possession by A.S. Byatt

I went into a Chapters last week and was sadly picking up book after book, putting them down again with a sad sigh (okay maybe I’m being a bit dramatic). Ulysses is fantastically, mindbogglingly amazing and I don’t think I could get through it without having the expectations of a class, but those same expectations make reading it a little bit less fun.

https://i1.wp.com/24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lk9w2izH4W1qbpx1no1_500.jpg

PS. If you’re looking for a good read, may I recommend The French Lieutenant’s Woman by John Fowles. I had to read it in high school and got obscenely into it (so good!).

also, this one time, I made paper out of linen and wrote a pretty cool article for the school newspaper.

2 thoughts on “On Reading

  1. Extremely cool article. And you know that I have copies of The Magus and Rebecca, and Grandpa will have all of Graham Greene books (I might even have The End of the Affair). Hmmm, I don’t think I have Cloud Atlas, but I definitely have Black Swan Green.

Leave a Reply (Please be nice!)

