You’ve Got Mail

Today, in all the craziness that is this week, I was struck with the overwhelming need to watch You’ve Got Mail. Honestly, I think it might be one of my favorite movies. I don’t know why, but I can actually vividly remember going to the movie theater when I was eight-years-old with my best friend and her dad and my mom to see it.

It really is a lovely movie. Predictable, of course, but so lovely and sweet. Bookstores, true love and the internet, what more do you want? It’s also one of those movies that makes me really miss home/my mom and feel really close to it/her at the same time.

https://i0.wp.com/www.elementsofstyleblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/vlcsnap-472791.jpg

“Sometimes I wonder about my life. I lead a small life – well, valuable, but small – and sometimes I wonder, do I do it because I like it, or because I haven’t been brave? So much of what I see reminds me of something I read in a book, when shouldn’t it be the other way around? I don’t really want an answer. I just want to send this cosmic question out into the void. So good night, dear void. ”

PS. What ever happened to leading men like Tom Hanks? Who were funny and sweet and smart but looked like real people you could see on the street not just movie stars? I think we need a new one of those.

3 thoughts on “You’ve Got Mail

  1. I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned it before (possibly on this blog) but if you love You’ve Got Mail you should check out Shop Around the Corner and She Loves Me. Both are based on the Hungarian play Parfumerie on which You’ve Got Mail is also based.

    Shop Around the Corner is from 1940 starring James Stewart and Margaret Sullavan and is rated by AFI as the 28th best American romance movie ever. Also includes the guy who played Oz in the Wizard of Oz.

    She Loves Me is a musical from 1963 (Tony Best Musical nominee and Best Musical Revival nominee in 1993) by the same composer and lyricists who did Fiddler on the Roof and the same playwright as Cabaret. As far as I’m aware it’s not available for rent or anything like that but there’s a version on youtube, first part is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6WZrcox0WfQ

  2. Yes, a wonderful movie. Pre “I destroyed my face” Meg Ryan. I also think of you when I see it. I think Hanks himself was a total anomalie. I’m trying to think of other actors of his era that were just, you know, normal, and I can’t think of one. He’s unique. That one scene in the coffee shop when she thinks she’s going to meet Mr. Email Correspondent and she meets him, and she tells him off, and his face crumples. That scene gets me every time. *I* crumple when I watch it.

Leave a Reply (Please be nice!)

