Happy (almost) Halloween!

Nate and I are going to pick out our pumpkins this weekend and I have a Halloween party to go to tonight. Not sure what exactly I’m going to be yet, but hopefully whatever it is will go over well.

Today’s Friday five are some cute pictures of Halloweens past. I always miss home a little bit this time of year. Pumpkin carving was always a big thing in the Sarconi-Johnson household. I’ve been noticing that here in Canada, Halloween isn’t such a big deal. I mean, back home, the houses are DECKED OUT for Halloween. I’m talking haybails and fake spiderwebs and motion censored speakers that whine at you like a ghost when you walk past them. Every year we spent a whole afternoon decorating the house and lawn. Last year, in order to make it up to me that I missed Halloween at home, my dad thought it would be nice to hang a HUMONGOUS and TERRIFYING fake bat from my ceiling light so that it greeted me the minute I walked in. Thanks dad, thanks.

But, back to Canada, there seems to be very few fake bats here. And although in some ways I am grateful for the lack of fake bats, it makes the whole holiday a little less festive (that is NOT AN INVITATION, DAD). Maybe I’m just not looking in the right places, but I never thought I’d miss fake spiderwebs and tombstones with ironic names on them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(look guys I made a slideshow aren’t you proud of me!?!?!)

(also, that red costume: I was a “southern belle”. Yes, a “southern belle.” That was the SECOND year in a row I choose to be a “southern belle” for Halloween, the costume from the year before was pink. Today, I might dub that costume “old western bar mistress” or ” saloon harlot.”)

Leave a Reply (Please be nice!)

