Majesty

Blog fail. I’m a bad blogger, and I don’t even have an awesome excuse like being busy and fabulous at New York’s Fashion Week, I’m just a bad blogger. Maybe when they took out my pesky appendix, they also took out my drive to blog… or I’ve just gotten a little lazy.
The bake sale went pretty well! We made a whopping 40 dollars, which is better than nothing and pretty good since everything was priced under a dollar.
Last week I was taken to the AGO (Art Gallery of Ontario) for the first  time by my boss, who was kind enough to share his vast knowledge of art history. While there, I was introduced to painter/print-maker David Blackwood. His website describes him as “one of Canada’s most respected visual storytellers”  as he represents the “legend, toughness and landscape” of  Newfoundland and the sea.

https://i0.wp.com/farm3.static.flickr.com/2768/4476581201_3ab1795e2a.jpg

 

A lot of his work includes big beautiful drawings/etchings of whales.

https://i1.wp.com/www.ago.net/assets/images/assets/past_exhibitions/2002/blackwood.jpghttps://pancakesandpoodles.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/blackwoodthegreatpeaceofbrianmartinwindsor.jpg?w=184

If I didn’t love whales before, my Marine Mammal Biology class has certainly made me love them more. They are really incredible animals, just like these are really incredible prints.

Have a happy weekend! Do you have wonderful Valentines Day plans? I’m all about the low key valentines at home: home-made dinner, movie, yummy desert.

I promise to try and blog better next week.

One thought on “Majesty

  1. I just finished Steve Martin’s book “An Object of Beauty.” The book itself was fatally flawed, but it said so much fascinating insider material on the art market. I wonder if Greg has read it and he take on it.

Leave a Reply (Please be nice!)

