Happy Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving is not one of my favorite holidays, mostly because the day revolves primarily around the consumption of things I don’t eat (turkey, gravy), but I’ve found that I really do miss it terribly while I’m up in the wintry north. Especially right now, when everything is overwhelming and so many of my friends are in (metaphorical) dark and dreary places. So, just as a reminder that things are not so bad, I’m going to be stereotypical and sappy by stating 10 things I’m genuinely thankful for (in no particular order). Ohhhh all we need now is a really big pumpkin, Charlie Brown and a pickachu float.

1. My family: I know, it’s so typical, but I have a really awesome family/ set of parents. I can count on them to be honest and supportive with whatever I do. They aren’t perfect, there have been ups and downs, but they are consistently loving. It makes my life so much better.

2. My roommate Liz!: My roommate last year was hellish. Seriously hellish and Liz is SO the opposite of hellish. We get along so well and she is a great friend to have. I’m so thankful that our housing situation came together like it did. It has elevated my opinion and over all experience of Toronto ten fold.

3. Nathan JJ Storring: Do I really need to spell this one out? It would take me pages to go over all the good things Nate does for me. So I’m just going to leave it at that.

4. Chocolate Bars: in any form. They can seriously turn a bad situation a little bit better. They are a small comfort but a necessary one.

5.  Southwest Airline Rapid Rewards Tickets: They let me get to and from Toronto (and by Toronto I mean Buffalo) a lot more frequently than if we didn’t have them.  I salute you  Southwest. (also the peanut deal is damn good).

6. Acalanes High School: I say this begrudgingly because really I didn’t enjoy high school (save for my junior year), but the education I got at Acalanes is really incomparable. They really prepared me for college.  I don’t think that my U of T experience would be the same without them. Really. I’m serious. It was hell, but I’m thinking it was worth it.

7. Critical Approaches to Literature with Professor Cannon Schmitt: I went into this class thinking it was one thing and then discovering it was something completely different. Basically this was Philosophy with a hint of English thrown in. I really don’t like Philosophy and the course load was really heavy. We’re talking 70 pages of hardcore unabridged Norton Philosophy a week. I didn’t get through most of it. However, this was one of the most rewarding classes I’ve ever taken. It has opened my horizons to analytical possibilities that I was totally unaware of. It has enhanced my other classes because I can draw on Derrida or Jameson to make arguments and strength understanding. Originally I was going to sell the Norton they make you buy but now I’m going to cling to it for the rest of my life. If you have the opportunity to take this course, DO IT. Its horribly difficult but in every way worth it. (funny how that is the longest paragraph)

8. My Friends Back Home: I can not wait to see you. There is something so comforting about going home after a long time away and having the exact same people at your fingertips as you did in high school (or before).  I really consider most of them my sisters (and I have a couple brothers). I would do anything for them. No matter how long we are apart, we always come back together.

 

 

 

 

 

9. Theatre: Acting keeps me sane. It’s gotten to the point where I don’t care if I’m going to be doing it professionally or in school or on the side or whatever, I just want to be doing it. I can walk away for a year (or two) and it’s still the same constant wonderfulness that it always was.

10. Photography/ Photo Albums/  Kinkos Print It Yourself: I have this insane problem where I keep everything because I hate forgetting things. I keep useless crap because it’s tied to a memory of one kind or another. Photos are not useless crap but managed to capture those memories all the same. I love photo albums and taking pictures. I love capturing moments, I think its beautiful.

 

Oh and then there is running water and electricity and food and stuffl like that- all those basic things that I take for granted every day. I’m thankful for those things too.  AND you. Because you’re reading this and it’s horribly self involved on my part but yet you’re reading it, so you must on some level care. Which makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. So thanks- to everything and everyone on this list. I hope you have pie today and I hope it’s amazing.

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. I second Q’s comment…but i feel slightly more unloved…Happy AMERICAN Thankgiving. (because it feels so wrong to have thanksgiving after halloween, i had to emphasize your nationality :P)

Leave a Reply (Please be nice!)

